Curse You, Characters!

Some of my characters are taking on a life of their own.

Seriously, this is getting frustrating now.  Sensible, well-organised people have checklists and plans and stuff like that.  You know, a sort of thing like:

  • Create plot outline.
  • Populate with places, people, buckets of jelly, whatever.
  • Make them interact with each other.
  • Make Fun Things Happen.
  • Wrap up story.

But my current checklist is like this:

  • Create plot outline.
  • Populate with places, people, buckets of jelly, whatever.
  • Decide that some of these people are just Too Damn Cool and poke them further to see what falls out.
  • Become intrigued with character and write something for them just to see what makes them tick.
  • Rewrite plot outline.
  • Populate with revamped places, people, buckets of jelly, whatever.
  • Discover that Too Damn Cool character behaves in hitherto unsuspected way and go ‘oh wow, this is Too Damn Cool!’
  • Rewrite plot outline.
  • Realise that plot outline is too narrow to accommodate Sweeping Scope of Grand Ideas.
  • Sulk.

You see my problem?  Characters.  I love characters.  I love creating them.  But more than anything, I love fleshing them out.  I can’t have a static cardboard cut out character, even when I’m doing tabletop role play.  Hell, I wrote background story for one of my RPG characters once that came out at over 80,000 words. 

It’s a curse.

Curse you, characters.

Leave a Reply

