Cometh the Hour, Cometh the… Duck-Billed Platypus

Agent P, to be precise.  Small Son is watching ‘Phineas and Ferb’ on the Disney Channel.  I have to say that I actually really like this show.  I like it’s off-the-wall humour and general utter silliness, but Perry the Platypus just wins.  He’s a duck-billed platypus for a start.  How can that not be funny?  ‘Phineas and Ferb’ can definitely stay: it’s an ultra-awesome show.  Better than some of the other dross Small Son seems to enjoy watching.

In other news… saw the new trailer for Iron Man 2 yesterday.  Yay, War Machine!  I loved Iron Man – I am happy to go on record as saying that I think it’s possibly the single best Marvel-to-film transition that’s been made.  RDJr was a great Tony Stark.  I can’t wait for them to just pull all the stops out for the Avenger movie.  Which of course Mark Millar should be writing.  It’s been a long time since I read any comic books though, too many other books to read.

Finally finished ‘Soul Hunter’ by Aaron Dembski-Bowden and have to say that it is very possibly the best W40K book I’ve read since I started.  It’s very engaging and the problems the Night Lords are up against are well conveyed.  I particularly liked the human element in the story – and I also liked the way I was left thinking seriously about the way loyalist legions are perceived from the ‘other side of the fence’.  Heartily good read, and I’m looking forward to ADB’s contribution to the Horus Heresy series, ‘The First Heretic’.  If he ever finishes it, of course.  😉

Work is sort of dull at the moment.  Same old, same old.  No sooner do I get my tracking list down to a level I can manage than another twenty or so patients get loaded on.

Faction LRP event at the weekend, which should be interesting for many, many reasons.  Watch this space to see how that turns out.

There are many good things going on at the moment – Dearly Beloved’s job situation looks about 90% sorted, so fingers crossed that comes to fruition.  It’ll throw our finances out a little bit, but it’s only a short-term thing because my car is paid off in June which will balance everything back up again nicely.  Also in June, we’re off for a long weekend in Ireland, which I’m properly stoked about.

There are so many good things going on just now.

Which is… y’know.

Good.

Leave a Reply

