Karma. Cosmic or Otherwise.

Advance warning. This post may well reveal just how horrible I actually am. Deal with it.

So.

Spool back about 2.5 years. I was working in a different hospital to the one in which I now work. The job was pretty rubbish, to be honest, but paid the bills. But I never wanted to get up and go in come morning. This was because of a colleague, who for sake of anonymity we shall call S.

S was – and probably still is, for all I care, a cow of the first degree. She considered herself to be better than everyone else, has a very forceful personality and took great pleasure in only giving half the information for any work that she gave other people. This gave her the opportunity to say ‘you didn’t do x, y and/or z’ and belittle said people. This was mostly myself and another colleague.

Now, I’m a pretty mild-mannered person – which given that I’m writing stuff about really angry Space Marines is sort of ironic – but she really was a horrible person to work with. She was, not to put too fine a point on it, a bully. I was frequently reduced to hiding upstairs in the bathroom in tears at the way she treated me, too easy-going and timid to stand up for myself. I went off for two weeks annual leave and was in tears the night before I had to go back. Because she was just plain horrible.

From time to time, she would actually be acceptably pleasant company, but we’re talking a good 90/10 bitch/pleasant ratio.

It was because of her that I left. The day before I left, in fact, I finally found my spine and told her where to stick it. That was very pleasing. My then-journal entry from that day:

I just did something that has been waiting to happen for 2.5 years.

I got into work at 8.15 to find a really snippy, spiteful message from the Evil Colleague From Hell. So bearing in mind that I don’t feel well to start with, that I have just shrugged off her attitude for over two years without letting it get to me and that I actually finish there tomorrow…

I walked out. Picked up my stuff and just left.

(Admittedly, ten minutes later I walked back in again, spoke to my boss who understood me perfectly and sent me home sick, but still.)

Good times.

Anyway, to the Sarah-is-a-bitch moment.

I was talking to a former colleague (FC) from that office last night and discovered the following.

FC: S got married, you know.

Me: Did she? Great disinterest.

FC: Yeah.

Natural pause.

FC: All her wedding presents got stolen.

Now then. I’m ALMOST sure that I reacted the correct way round.

Me: Aw… that’s a real shame. (Actually genuine and stuff, ‘cos I’m really not so bad)

Another natural pause.

Me: Serves her right, though.

FC: I hear you. What goes around comes around.

Karma.

I just did something that has been waiting to happen for 2.5 years.

I got into work at 8.15 to find a really snippy, spiteful message from the Evil Colleague From Hell. So bearing in mind that I don’t feel well to start with, that I have just shrugged off her attitude for over two years without letting it get to me and that I actually finish there tomorrow…

I walked out. Picked up my stuff and just left.

(Admittedly, ten minutes later I walked back in again, spoke to my boss who understood me perfectly and sent me home sick, but still.)

One thought on “Karma. Cosmic or Otherwise.

  1. Schafe says:

    To think I once thought of you as something approaching human. We’ll never be friends now.

    (Justice FTW! though)

Leave a Reply

