Location, Location, Location

Transcription of a very silly conversation between myself and a prominent Black Library author (Him).

Me: Dearly Beloved and I have all sorts of stupid conversations when driving places, but this one was one I thought you should have an input into.“If the Primarchs were all from the UK, where would they be from?” The only ones we could really firm up were:-

Angron – Glasgow. Because of the short, violent ginger connotations.
Sanguinius – Buckinghamshire. Because he’s so posh.
Ferrus Manus
– somewhere in Yorkshire. Probably Sheffield. Because he works in my head with a Yorkshire accent. “Ee, trouble at t’mill, our Fulgrim.”
Jaghati Khan
– East Anglia, where it’s nice and flat for him to ride his bike around. Norwich, maybe.

Him: I think Russ may be a Scouser. Or he’s from Guildford and he has issues.

Me: Ah, Liverpool.  The only place in this country where I’ve had to ask someone speaking my own language to repeat themselves about four times. And now I live near Newcastle where they sound drunk even when they’re not.  From Guildford with issues. You wouldn’t believe how many of my friends that brings to mind…

Him: From Guildford With Issues was actually the title of an Ian Fleming novel that never made the cut. 😉

Me: Note to self:  only open emails from you when I DON’T have mouthful of tea.

Him: I thank you.

Me: (Returning to the subject) Mortarion is from Sellafield.

Him: And Alpharius is twinned with Boulogne.

Me: Fulgrim is from Kensington and Lorgar is from Oxford.

Him: So is Magnus for Glastonbury, Brighton or Milton Keynes?

Me: I think Glastonbury probably works better for him, with all the mystical connotations.

Roboute Guilliman should be from Milton Keynes. In my head he engenders uniform housing estates and endless roundabouts.

Leave a Reply

