I Love It When A Plan Comes Together…

Colonel John ‘Hannibal’ Smith. The MacGuyver of his time.

As an aside – we went to see the A Team movie last weekend. If you’re in any way a fan of the old TV show, go and see it. It was wonderful. Had the charm and charisma of the original, with all the kick-assery that comes with a Hollywood budget. And Sholto Copley was born to play Murdock. Believe me, I was one of the biggest A Team fans back in the 80’s – and I wasn’t annoyed at the bringing-it-up-to-date treatment. It was great.

Anyway, plans.

I have work to do, yo. This means actually getting my ass into gear and beginning the job of planning out where I’m going with the story that I’m working on. I have my overall outline, which is great. Now I’m starting to realise that I need to record somewhere what Joe Marine does on page 74 and how it has a bearing on what Sid Marine does on page 167. Fortunately, other than the assorted squads of Redshirt Marines, I haven’t given myself TOO many main characters to fret over. Still, what Joe Marine does on page 74 might well have a direct impact on poor Brother Sergeant Redshirt’s activities later on in the story.

To this end, I’m considering commandeering the wall in the dining room (where my PC currently resides – two bedroom house, no quiet study room for me!) for a sort of timeline. A sort of visual reminder of Places I Have Been and Places To Which I Am Headed. This throws me into a dilemma, because it’ll mean my dining room will revert to looking like a student house all over again. This is kind of cool in its own sort of fucked-up way, but I’m not, neither have I ever been, a student. I have a nice house. Untidy and bursting at the seams with books and DVDs, certainly – but nice nonetheless. Will removing the beautiful wall hanging of a tiger make me any less of an adult?

Well, yes. Yes, it will.

But it’s my plan, man. I need to see my plan in front of me in a non-electronic format. Somewhere I can glance without having to wear my finger out on the mouse wheel as I scroll up, down, up, down, up, down…

The ideal plan was thwarted. We were looking at Operation Move House a month or two ago, but the market is so dire in this village at the moment that I wouldn’t even get what I paid for my own house. This is largely down to one house that’s on the market for a quick sale and which has been priced stupidly low. I wish someone would buy it already. Anyway, Operation House Move saw us looking seriously at a nice three bedroom place closer to Durham, with a little back bedroom that would have made a perfect study. We were properly excited by the thought, but then it all fell through, to the echo of crashing misery and disappointment.

I love it when a plan comes together, but I fecking hate it when external influences screw me over.

Anyway.

Back to my planning.

Are you still watching that space? Good.

Leave a Reply

