Progress [Gildar Rift Update #3]

End October Target: 30,000
Current Word Count: 17,546

Given that I work full time and have to fit my writing around this incidental obstacle, I’m going great guns. Things are flowing well just now. I keep getting those wonderful moments when you suddenly realise exactly why it is that Character A does this, or why Character B says that. Moments of toe-curling glee when everything just seems to slot together brilliantly. I’m still enjoying myself. This probably helps. Ask me again in about 10 weeks time when the first deadline looms like a… like a… looming thing.

I’m well into Chapter Four now, which worried me initially on re-reading my chapter-by-chapter breakdown. I get this a lot. I read the chapter outline and have this moment of inner Abject Panic where I’m saying ‘how the HELL am I going to pad that out into an entire chapter?’ You find ways. Things happened in Chapter Three that gave me great inroads into Chapter Four. Chapter Three was pretty hectic: lots going on, many different camera angles… Chapter Four is a bit of a cooldown in comparison.

I’ve not yet re-read what I’ve done. I’m still working hard on getting the story down. The urge to go back and edit now is getting very strong, though. I have a deliciously fabulous first reader who keeps me on the straight and narrow. He had nothing to comment on where Chapter Three was concerned, which was fantastic. I’m liking that chapter. You watch, it’ll be the one that the Editor-beast goes ‘re-write that, would you? kthx.’

So ever onwards, ever upwards. I’m pretty sure I’ll be well over the 25k mark by the end of this week if it keeps going at this pace: I have the house to myself on Sunday as Small Son will be at his dad’s and Dearly Beloved will be at work. So as long as I can resist the temptation of the Bolthole/Facebook/Twitter/LiveJournal/WoW/DoW et al I’ll be just grand.

In other news, Dearly Beloved has nearly finished reading The First Heretic. This is entirely fabulous, because it means I can actually get to read it now.

One thought on “Progress [Gildar Rift Update #3]

  1. Schafe says:

    Good going. Pat yourself on the back and get back to work.

Leave a Reply

