Progress [Gildar Rift Update #5]

October Word Count Target: 30,000
Current Word Count: 31,068

So much for the procrastination. It’s a week since I last updated the word count properly and in that time I’ve managed to overcome a week from hell at work, which saw me sink right into a day of misery. I’m enormously grateful to several people for pulling me out of that horrible funk. Everything’s been better since then. I sat down this morning with a bunch of minor edits that I wanted to apply to chapters one through to six and by the time I had finished, I had broken the magical 30k barrier.

I therefore awarded myself a day off and watched some of the Star Trek marathon on Film Four. I totally forgot it was on, otherwise I’d have been watching from the start. However, I missed most of the good stuff and jumped in just in time for the end of Star Trek VIThe One Whose Title I Always Forget and then Generations.

I’d forgotten how cheesily awful that film was, with Malcolm McDowell winning the ‘Cheesiest Line in the Film’ award with the instantly forgettable ‘I have a date with eternity, and I don’t want to be late’. I mean, that doesn’t even make sense. Why would eternity mind if Malcolm McDowell was late? I mean, it’s not like eternity has much else to do, is it? It’s not exactly in a hurry to get anywhere.

Anyway, that naturally led into First Contact, which is still probably my favourite of the TNG films. Worf wins the Cheese award with ‘Assimilate this!’ Why do I like it? I dunno, really. I like the scene at the beginning when there’s the big honking space battle with the fleet versus the Borg. I like everything that James Cromwell says/does in his role. I think Jonathan Frakes made a good job of directing it.

Insurrection, then. I refuse to comment. I remember going to see this at the cinema when it came out. All I actually remember about the film is that Riker shaved his beard off. I elected not to watch it in order to write some more Stuff. Nemesis is on shortly, I’ll gladly go back for that, if only for the honking ultra-mega-cool ship of cool.

The experience has been greatly enhanced by the #startrekweekend hashtag on Twitter.

Other than that, I’ve managed to sit and enjoy some reading. I’m getting better at managing my writing time around my ‘real life’ activities. Here’s hoping I can keep doing that for the other 75% of Gildar Rift.

One thought on “Progress [Gildar Rift Update #5]

  1. Xhalax says:

    Yes, First Contact does have that whole ‘I like it but I don’t know why?’ vibe about it. I’m the same….First Contact is easily my favourite Trek film, but I can’t quite define WHY.

    I suspect it’s that MASSIVE Borg Cube that did it.

Leave a Reply

