Progress [Gildar Rift Update #10]

November Word Count Target: 50,000
Current Word Count: 57,027

A week of good stuff with some ‘meh’ thrown in to balance it out.

Yeah. I went beyond the estimated 55,000 that I thought might happen by the end of the month. All good stuff. I’ve pretty much finished the first half of the book now, the first fundamental section. During the course of chapter nine, one of my characters took on a twist that I hadn’t anticipated and as such, gave me an ‘in’ for a pretty epic fight scene that’s currently raging.

It’s been a rush getting this far, but I’m rapidly approaching the point at which I need to go back and re-read what I’ve done. I made the decision early on to just get the story down on paper and then worry about it afterwards. Well, the worrying time is encroaching! I’m glad though, because I’m well on target for my mid-way deadline, I should have room to do that.

I should hit 60k by next week and that will make me happy indeed. I now believe that I can do this. I had a stonkingly good conversation with my editor at BL Towers, the illustrious Mr. Dunn and we talked about a lot of things.

Other things this week… I’ve been on WoW quite a bit and have had some nights on Skype with the guild where I’ve laughed so hard I’ve nearly thrown up. They’re all bloody mad. Couple that with a very light-hearted week at work with happy colleagues and this week hasn’t been anywhere near as tortuous as previous weeks have been. This is also good stuff.

Went to see ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1’ yesterday. Enjoyed it, but was gutted at the omission of one of my favourite bits of sub-plot. See, that’s one of the things I enjoyed most about the HP series. The stuff that WASN’T written and to which JKR only alluded.

Not so good stuff – I still haven’t taken everyone’s advice about Not Reading Forums. I have to stop doing that. I had a bit of a down day yesterday and made the ultimate mistake of reading Warseer at stupid o’clock this morning.

It’ll pass. I’m just in that slightly delicate phase of my cycle where the depressive bit slides into the fore. I know it well enough now that happy is just around the corner.

Might well push up that word count to 58,000 by the end of the day. For now, I’m chilling on the sofa, reading a WoW story which has been written by someone whose first language isn’t English. He puts a lot of people to shame, too. It’s good stuff. There’s a strange programme on the TV about people building giant Battenburg cake which is giving me a hankering for Battenburg and myson just made me a bacon sandwich.

All is well.

Until next time, here is an amusing hamster.

E=MC2?

Leave a Reply

