Christmas…

…is two days away and as always, I feel entirely unprepared for it. I’ve not bought anywhere near as much stuff this year as I have done in previous years, which is definitely by design. Small Son is nearly twelve, which means he’s a lot easier to buy for now, but his mountain o’ stuff is most definitely smaller than it has been. He had a couple of presents during the course of the year (a LRP sword, a LRP event) that were pretty costly and he understood then that they were part of his present.

I have my food shop all done and dusted and am looking forward to Saturday’s lunch. I enjoy cooking Christmas dinner and never get in a panic about it. In past years, I’ve cooked my turkey on Christmas Eve to free up room in the oven, but I have a teeny tiny turkey this year, just one that’s big enough for the three of us and no more. So much gets wasted, after all.

What’s been utterly brilliant this year though is the way Small Son has acted. He’s always been totally nonchalant about Christmas, never letting it excite him and not even waking up early. This year, though, he’s already hyper. It’s hilarious. I just have to say ‘CHRISTMAS’ in a stupid voice and he dissolves into giggles. That, I think, will make all the difference this year. For the last ten years, it’s just been another day, albeit with a nice lunch and presents. This year feels different already (although I am still failing to engage with any sort of Christmas spirit).

They say Christmas is a time for your friends and family… but mine are so far away, and Dearly Beloved is working both tomorrow AND New Year’s Eve which sort of ends any ideas of going away anywhere. Although, you know. The weather sucks, too. I do dearly wish he’d get a job outside of retail where he actually got to take weekends off and could take normal bank holidays like normal people… but you know, what can you do? I also wish he’d learn to drive, but that isn’t ever going to happen either.

Still, here we are into the last week of 2010 and time to take stock of it all and look forward to 2011.

2010 was the year of revelations. My chance to be published was presented to me and I grasped it with both hands. That’s worked out pretty amazingly for me. If nothing else, I’ve met some utterly amazing people in the process, including all the supportive bods over at the Black Library Bolthole. Since January, when I first got the email inviting me to make changes to one of my stories for it to stand a chance of being published, my life has been turned sideways, upside down and inside out and it’s been a wild rollercoaster ride. Of course, there’s been one or two negative moments, but with the help and support of all the aforementioned awesome people, I can now rise well above any of that.

2011 will be the year of progress. Gildar Rift is due in at the end of March and is currently well on schedule – something that I’m almost insanely proud of. What will happen after that is anybody’s guess, but I’m looking forward to finding out. I’m sure lots of editing will follow – this is my first book after all – but I’m looking forward to that, too. I enjoy the editing process very much.

For now, though, need to get through Christmas. Work for two-and-a-half days next week (Wednesday, Thursday, half of Friday), then the New Year weekend and back to work. Week off first week in February, Black Library Live! 2011 in March… lots of things planned for the first half of the year. Not going to first LRP event of next year as Easter weekend is a no-no.

But it’s all good. It’s all go.

Here’s wishing all of you a very happy Christmas and an incredibly happy New Year.

Pax.

Leave a Reply

