Chop, Chop, Busy, Busy…

WARNING! STREAM OF CONSCIOUSNESS FOLLOWS.

For all you young people, the title of this post comes from an ancient BT TV commercial featuring the world’s most amazing penguins. Stay tuned at the end of it for some Women Taking Their Clothes Off.

Right, I hear you say. I can hear you shuffling slightly backwards as well. Don’t do that. Come back. Please? Aww, thanks!

So today was the first day back at work after two weeks off and I was indeed sounding just like those penguins. Chop, chop, busy, busy, work, work, bang, bang. One ten hour day later and I’m ALMOST caught up again. The nature of my job is that it doesn’t stop when you’re not there. Patients are still on the 62 day pathway whether you take 14 of those days off work or not. And believe me, 14 days is a long time in the NHS…

But something fundamental changed at work today, because I was able to take in my copy of The Gildar Rift that the Editor-beast gave me last week. ‘Look,’ I said, proudly. ‘I told you I’d written a book!’ And they were genuinely impressed. Chances are, none of them will ever buy or read a copy, not being sci-fi nerds like I am, but they were all ‘wow! How long did that take? What’s the process? Etc., etc., etc.’ And I felt massively bashful and thrilled about it all over again. I am now a properly published author with a novel of my own. I got a buzz when I saw Primary Instinct in Victories of the Space Marines, but this is something else. S’got my name on the front an’ EVERYTHIN’!

Exciting stuff.

I’m very busy with Valkia the Bloody at the moment, but that hasn’t stopped me breaking out to do a couple of additional projects (known as Project: Lonestar and Project: Hoodwink at the moment) and that’s been a welcome break from the WHF-verse. I do miss my Space Marines when I’m not writing about them. At the moment, I’m particularly missing Gileas, he’s not had a look-in for ages.

LOOK IN! See how I show my age? My brother used to get that magazine when I was about four years old. I remember the TV ad and jingle and everything. You may gather from this that the old-style TV jingles work well on me given that I remember them… what, *cough* years down the line?

LA LA LA LA LA LOOK IN!

Er… yes.

(Sorry for the delay, I immediately got distracted by watching old late 70’s/early 80’s TV commercials on YouTube).

So yes. Back to work and my poor head is all over the place. I had planned on doing some writing tonight, but am so tired from being back that I just can’t muster the enthusiasm. Tomorrow I don’t have to work ridiculous hours though, so I will get caught up. I WILL get caught up. I’m at the beginning of the month, so my progress chart (YES, I AM THAT NERDY) is looking distressing below the target line. I finished August about 2.5k up on target, which gave me a boost to be getting on with.

Have finished reading The Outcast Dead and the lovely Mr. McNeill will be signing copies of this at Warhammer World this coming Saturday. Rumour tells me that there will be someone else signing Something Else, too, but I might be wrong there. If he reads this and would like to confirm it, that would be splendid. If I misheard him, then JUST IGNORE ME. Anyway. The Outcast Dead was thoroughly enjoyable and I hope you lovely folk out there enjoy it.

I’ve forgotten what I even meant to actually blog about. My head is a scrambled mess.

I think I should go watch some more old TV commercials. So to finish, here’s one that was recently resurrected, because the advertising world FINALLY REALISED that adverts used to be a lot better…

One thought on “Chop, Chop, Busy, Busy…

  1. Matt Brown says:

    Someone Else is indeed due to be there signing Something Else, unless the Warhammer 40,000 Doubles event pack is lying! In which case I shall be somewhat miffed, as Something Else is something I was keen to pick up.

Leave a Reply

