Celebrations!

Champagne cork

Watch it! You'll have someone's eye out with that thing!

WOO HOO! Reasons to be cheerful, 1, 2… well, 1 and 2.

1 – Valkia the Bloody

A brief ‘for posterity’ update.

Completed first draft of Valkia the Bloody sent from my mailbox ten minutes ago. I feel just as accomplished on completing this one as I did at the end of The Gildar Rift. That’s TWO novels I’ve managed to write… and man, I am so proud of myself.

It’s been a blast writing a full-length WHF novel. It’s so different to W40K and so different to mainstream fantasy stuff that it’s a genuine challenge. Feedback I received from one of the BL editors on my Valkia short story that’s coming out in Age of Legend was invaluable during the editing process. I am enjoying this writist thing enormously. I am very tired though. Been hard at it this last week and Dearly Beloved’s patience and assistance during the editing phase has been… brilliant. There’s a reason I love him, put it that way.

So now it’s a question of wait for the Editor Beast to read it and tell me what he wants tweaking. I hereby award myself a week off writing before I start with the next project.

2 – Rugby World Cup

Way to go, New Zealand! Even though you didn’t mercilessly slaughter the French (no ‘you beat England AND Wales you gits’ bitterness from me, honest), you certainly kept the match tense. France, though I say it grudgingly, were probably the better team on the pitch. Both of them had outstanding defence and competed for the nastiest injury to their fly half. Also, the All Blacks prop scored their try which was faintly endearing.

Also also, I loved the way the French marched in an arrow-head formation to stare down the All Blacks during the pre-match haka. Dearly Beloved says it wasn’t them answering the warrior challenge, it was the French hugging each other in fear.

You decide.

But now the RWC is finished! I feel bereft.

Although I get to have a lay-in next Saturday, I suppose…

All in all a good day.

Secret Guilty Pleasure Reason to be Cheerful #3 – Strictly Come Dancing

Just how sweet is Audley Harrison anyway?

5 thoughts on “Celebrations!

  1. Schafe says:

    I will always remember where I was when you finished the first draft of Valkia the Bloody. Downstairs sat on the kitchen worktop eating chocolate cat as the cat meowed at my feet.

    Actually that seems somewhat forgettable and I’m prone to romanticising my past so that I come across as more adventurous but we’ll always have this comment to fall back on.

  2. How sweet is Audley Harrison?

    Not as sweet as Alex Jones. ;-P

Leave a Reply

