The Next Big Thing

The lovely Josh Reynolds has tagged me in this self-promotional shenanigans, as have a few other people. In fact, so many other people have now tagged me that I break the chain. I have nobody left to tag. So I pass it to you all to pick up as you see fit. I also screw up the timing, because I think I’m not meant to do this for another week or whatever, but hey. At least I’ve answered it now!

♦WHAT IS THE WORKING TITLE OF YOUR NEXT BOOK?

Portents is the book I’ve recently finished for the Black Library.

Project: Backburner is the original novel I’m (very slowly) adding to over time.

WHERE DID THE IDEA FOR THE BOOK COME FROM?

Both books sprang, not exactly fully formed, out of the quagmire that is my head. 

WHAT GENRE DOES YOUR BOOK FALL UNDER?

Portents: Tie-in science fiction/science fantasy/space opera/whatever new genre people make up to fill up the bookshelves even more confusingly.

Project: Backburner: Urban fantasy.

WHAT ACTORS WOULD YOU CHOOSE TO PLAY THE PART OF YOUR CHARACTERS IN A MOVIE RENDITION?

When the first genetically-enhanced bio-engineered humans start appearing, I’ll let you know re: Portents.

Although I do have someone in mind as the lead character of Project: Backburner, and that’s Aidan Turner.

WHAT IS THE ONE SENTENCE SYNOPSIS OF YOUR BOOK?

1) The Silver Skulls rock into town and kick ass.

2) Ed sells sporting goods, but it’s not your usual quarry.

WILL YOUR BOOK BE SELF-PUBLISHED, OR REPRESENTED BY AN AGENCY?

Portents will be published by those lovely people at the Black Library at some point in the future.

Project: Backburner … well, I don’t know to tell the truth. I need to write it first.

HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU TO WRITE THE FIRST DRAFT OF THE MANUSCRIPT?

Portents: Just under three months, although I have been doing some re-writes of parts of it in conjunction with my shiny editor.

Project: Backburner – still writing it!

WHAT OTHER BOOKS WOULD YOU COMPARE THIS STORY TO WITHIN YOUR GENRE?

…more Warhammer 40K stuff. Heh. It’s hard to compare it to anything else. It is, as has been documented, a Silver Skulls novel. All Silver Skulls, all the time. Except the bits that contain stuff about the <redacted> Chapter, who are <redacted> and who boast a <redacted> in their ranks.

Project: Backburner is decidedly less space-based and more urban fantasy. Bit Dresden-esque, only with an English sense of humour. Less serious than Felix Castor and more tongue-in-cheek.

♦WHO, OR WHAT, INSPIRED YOU TO WRITE THIS BOOK?

I wanted to. In both cases.

WHAT ELSE ABOUT THE BOOK MIGHT PIQUE A READER’S INTEREST?

One of them features a true revelation about three and half inch trowels and why it is that you should never trust your in-laws, the other features post-human supersoldiers righteously smiting and possibly making it back home in time for tea and medals.

Possibly.

Or possibly not.

Only one way to find out.

Leave a Reply

