And That’s How the West Was Won…

I’ve been quiet. Sorry about that, although I’m almost entirely sure nobody actually reads the weird-ass stuff that I put on the blog. I’ve been quite busy, though. Which is nice.

I thought I’d pop by and do a quick update, though, because there’s just so much going on lately. Also, and you know, don’t keel over with shock at this revelation, but we are finally getting a much-needed holiday in September of this year. It coincides (give or take a few days) with our tenth wedding anniversary, and after the immensely complex year we’ve had, with Near Death Experiences (NOT an exaggeration), a break is going to be very welcome indeed.

One of the things I’ve been busy with is an involvement in the planned re-launch of a cracking little tabletop game that goes by the name ‘Wild West Exodus’, and which you can read all about here. WWX, for that is the acronym by which I shall refer to it, is a corker of a game, with an increasingly developing rich and delightful alternative world background. The production miniatures are utterly glorious and really nice to paint. I have been a huge Doc Holliday and Wyatt Earp fan since I was about 12 and I watched ‘Gunfight at the O.K. Corral’ with my dad. Then along came ‘Tombstone’, arguably my favourite film of all time, and everything Val Kilmer brought to the character, and Denis Quaid’s equally glorious take on it.

I’ve had a long-held ambition to go to Arizona, to visit Tombstone and to see the O.K. Corral.

Guess where I’m going in September?

So when I discovered WWX and found I could make a Lawman posse that included Wyatt and Doc, it was a no-brainer, really. Look, look, here’s my Lawmen posse! (Not all painted yet, but here they are).

posse.jpg

They’re your huckleberries.

As well as Some Secret Stuff, which I am really hoping to share more details about with you soon, I’ve also been writing a few flash-fics for the WWX blog and thought I’d collect all the ones I’ve done so far and gather them here, like a bunch of fluffy bunnies or whatever, for you to pop over and take a look at.

1 – The Storyteller – in which we learn a little about a fine chap by the name of Broad Arrow Jack.

2 – Harvest – in which we meet the supremely creepy Countess Augusta Byron

3 – A Gentleman’s Disagreement – in which we share a moment with those most glorious of Lawmen, Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday.

4 – Dead Man’s Hand –  in which we discover what becomes of Wild Bill Hickok in the alternative world of WWX.

5 – Seeking Guidance – in which a young Walks Looking of the Warrior Nation seeks out her spirit guide.

2 thoughts on “And That’s How the West Was Won…

  1. tws029 says:

    Well, there’s at least one person that reads your entries. I’ve been a fan since your first book. Seeing a ladies perspective was awesome. Knowing that it wasn’t far off from a guy’s was even better.

    I hope you keep writing these.

    Thanks,
    Tracey

Leave a Reply

