Some Blather. On Tabletop RPG and General Sarah-ness

Two posts in one day, good heavens, what is the world coming to?

I was away at the weekend.  This isn’t a very exciting thing, I know – I’m sure those of you reading this here journal are great globe-trotters, but I don’t get away all that often.  I didn’t go particularly far – to York, in fact.  Saturday night/all day Sunday to play D&D 4th Edition with a group of great friends.  One of said friends (whose house we stayed at) is a simply staggering cook and fed us until we nearly exploded messily all over his floor.  That would have been a most unfortunate incident.

I’m ashamed to say that I drank far too much alcohol on Saturday night.  This, coupled with my advancing years (or possibly the fact that we didn’t go to bed until 4am on Sunday) meant that I was somewhat bleary during the all-day gaming session on Sunday.  Didn’t stop  me enjoying it though, no sir.  I have an elf ranger who has a speciality in twin blades and on the rare occasions that the God of Dice Rolling smiled down on me (seriously, I rolled some CRAP dice yesterday), she was actually quite awesome.

And that was another thing.  She.  That just threw me out like I can’t beging to explain.  Let me tell you why.  Are you sitting comfortably?  Yes?  Then stand up.  (Point to the person who names the source of quote).

I’ve been playing tabletop fairly regularly throughout my adult life, but more so in the last seven years.  We tend towards White Wolf systems (I’m particularly fond of Exalted and Scion, for example) and we’ve developed a standard Tuesday night gaming group.  None of us (apart from our GM) are particularly seasoned role players and our Tuesday night sessions tend to go off at such random tangents that we have been known to only get in about half an hour’s gaming.  It’s squalid behaviour, really it is.  Anyway, that aside, I almost invariably elect to play a male character.

I don’t know why.  I just prefer it, I think.  I have to be a woman all day every day.  It’s nice to slide into a male mindset instead.  The guys I roleplay with are used to me and my bizarre quirk now, but the guy who’s GM’ing for our D&D game just thinks I’m weird.

At LRP of course, it’s much harder to roleplay being a male when you are in possession of a couple of rather obvious female assets.  I can deal with that.  But during tabletop, or when I’m writing, I just happen to prefer slugs and snails and puppy-dog tails.

Most of the protagonists in stories I write are male.  If I keep writing W40K stuff, there’s a fairly massive percentage chance that most of those will be about men as well.  So…ner.

Yeah, it’s probably weird, but wouldn’t life be dull if we were all carbon copies of one another?

Leave a comment